Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Photo credit : Studio Felicity.com

OUT OF FOCUS

38 Now as they were traveling along, He entered a village; and a woman named Martha welcomed Him into her home. 39 She had a sister called Mary, who was seated at the Lord’s feet, listening to His word. 40 But Martha was distracted with all her preparations; and she came up to Him and said, “Lord, do You not care that my sister has left me to do all the serving alone? Then tell her to help me.” 41 But the Lord answered and said to her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and bothered about so many things; 42 but only one thing is necessary, for Mary has chosen the good part, which shall not be taken away from her.”  (Luke 10:38-42 NASB)

But Martha was distracted by all her preparations

In the amplified it reads…But Martha [overly occupied and too busy] was distracted with much serving; and she came up to Him and said, Lord, is it nothing to You that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me [to lend a hand and do her part along with me]!

This rang true to my heart maybe because of the “busy-ness” of my days maybe because I tend to be like Martha.  I start out with great intentions but then my focus deviates and I begin to fret… thinking this has to be just-so, and that needs to be done. My priorities may somehow get a bit out of focus.

The kids have homework (which means they need my attention and help at times).  I need to spend time with both and listen well to what happened in their day.  Then of course,  they have clubs, classes,  sport practices & games….we have to be here for this or there for that (even when you limit the activities of your children, there is still so much to do). There is this event happening at the church and I really want to go.  My friend calls and wants to catch up over lunch, I would absolutely LOVE to… but where will I find the time?!

Oh and then there is “this” that is not finished or “that” which STILL needs to be done, “oooh look at this house what a disaster”.  Overwhelming thoughts – I must be the only mom who can’t possibly do all that needs to be done (nor do it well).  Are my kids the only one who can be in a clean room for 5 minutes and it look like a Tornado has left a path of destruction and chaos?! 😛   Why does it all seem to hit like a tidal wave, all at once?  How can I be expected to get all of this done? Is it EVEN HUMANLY possible??   Yikes!! Frustration overload  Just like Martha my vexation overflows – and it spills out in my attitude,  my actions, and my words (Sadly).

I can completely relate.  I too have an ever-growing list of concerns that over occupy and make me too busy- it distracts me and keeps me from focusing on what is best. From what/WHO should be FIRST.

Reflecting on the passage – I know she had many preparations – she had invited guests in her home and wanted to provide for them during their stay and make them comfortable. However, if Martha continued in her over-busy-ness with her complete focus on getting her “to-do” list (her own agenda) done, then what would she or anyone else remember from this visit?  Her frustrations? Her snippy attitude and remarks (maybe even complaining)? Would she be so self focused because of her frustration that she wouldn’t even enjoy her time with the Son of God? Serving others, keeping your home well, hosting guests, etc are all wonderful. However they can’t be our focus.  We must realize that all things here, on the earth, are temporal and fleeting.  What truly matters are not temporal things. 

In a quite distressed moment with Jesus  she overflows with frustration and anxiety.  Jesus’s reply is merciful, patient and loving.   He simply and matter-of-fact states the TRUTH.  Jesus points out that her point of view is “off”… her focus is the wrong direction.  She is consumed worrying and stressing over on the wrong things (temporary, minor details)  Her agenda and her mind were focusing ONLY on the here & now. Her focus needed to be redirected to the will of God.

It is easy to be consumed in the busy minor details.  Would it be that we seek God today and let him show us when our focus is off.  That we would have an open mind to hear him when he reveals that we are on a path after our own agenda instead of one that he is leading.  Let us desire to have our minds, our eyes, our energy and our focus on what is MOST important….

 

*********************

Thank you for checking our my Studio Felicity Inspirations Blog today….

You can also check out my personal blog at  https://kymberleeblogs.wordpress.com/

